Saturday, 27 July 2013

The Eatwell Plate

Healthy eating does not mean that certain foods need to be completely banned from your diet. In order to maintain a healthy body and reduce the risk of disease you need to eat a balanced diet that includes a variety of foods, by doing this you will also ensure that you are getting all the nutrients, vitamins and minerals that you need.

The eatwell place was introduced by the Government to help people understand what a healthy diet should look like.

The eatwell plate is made up of five food groups that differ in size:
  1. Fruit and Vegetables
  2. Bread, rice, potatoes and pasta
  3. Meat, fish, eggs and beans
  4. Milk and dairy products
  5. Food and drinks high in fat and/or sugar 
The larger the size of the food group the more you should eat, the smaller the section the less you should eat. The eatwell plate shows that everything is ok in moderation, it also shows how proportion and variety are key to a healthy diet.

Personally I do not follow the eatwell plate to the letter! I do not eat bread, cereals, rice or pasta, I find if I eat these foods I feel bloated, lethargic and just blurh. The key here is to tailor the eat well plate to your lifestyle, take note of how you feel after eating certain foods, if you don't feel awesome don't eat it. I prefer to fill up on vegetables, meat and dairy (these make me feel awesome)! Please do not get confused and think that I am following a low carbohydrate diet by not eating bread, rice or pasta. I get plenty of carbohydrates from fruits, vegetables and natural grains such as quinoa. 

For the majority of people the eatwell plate is a good place to start when analysing your current diet or if you are looking to make changes to your diet. The eatwell plate, however, is not suitable for children under two.

So it just goes to show that you can eat what you want as long as you do so in moderation! 

No comments :

Post a Comment